背景

2020 年 11 月 27 日,本市收到尤優雪先生的一封信,稱本市用於選舉市議會候選人的一般選舉制度違反了《加州選民權利法案》(CVRA)。 薛先生的信函並未包含構成 CVRA 項下有效索賠的所有必要要素。

2021 年 3 月 5 日,紐約市收到薛先生的律師 Kevin Shenkman 的一封信,聲稱該市的一般選舉制度違反了《加州投票權法案》(CVRA)。信中寫道:“我代表我們的客戶、西南選民登記教育項目及其居住在 Millbrae 市(“Millbrae”或“City”)內的成員以及 You You Xue 寫信。Millbrae 依賴於全體選舉"

CVRA 於 2002 年通過,當可以證明其損害受保護階級選舉其選擇的候選人或以重大方式影響選舉的能力時,禁止舉行大型選舉。 該法律獲得通過的部分原因是原告未能成功利用 CVRA 的聯邦對應物《聯邦投票權法案》來表明該司法管轄區存在“種族兩極分化投票”;他們不需要表現出選民或市政府官員歧視代表性不足的階級的任何意圖。 他們也不需要證明改為地區選舉會增加有關當選機構的代表性。 

CVRA 通過取消聯邦投票權法案 (“FVRA”) 中存在的一些程序保障和舉證責任要求,使原告更容易在針對公共實體的訴訟中獲勝。勝訴原告有權收回其合理的律師費和專家證人費用。但是,如果紐約市勝訴,則不允許支付律師費或費用補償,除非紐約市可以證明索賠是輕率的。其他在法庭上反對 CVRA 挑戰的市政當局和地方政府機構要么自願通過地區選舉,要么被法院強迫隱瞞並支付數百萬納稅人資金的律師費。

2021 年 10 月 12 日,理事會通過了第 21-70 號決議,反映了其將理事會選舉從一般選舉過渡到按選區的意圖。

為協助過渡,紐約市聘請了 Redistricting Partners,這是一家專門為轄區劃定區線的公司。重新分區合作夥伴將在 2021 年 11 月 9 日的市議會會議上介紹分區過程。 

Millbrae 市目前是一個普通選舉制度,這意味著整個市的選民選舉五名市議會成員。作為一個普通法城市,該市可以選擇 a) 劃分為五個獨立的區,由輪換市長,或 b) 劃分為四個獨立的區,並由一名當選市長。每位議員必須居住在該地區內,並且只能由居住在該特定地區的選民選出。

Background

On November 27, 2020 the City of Millbrae received a letter from Mr. You You Xue claiming the City’s at large election system for electing candidates to the City Council violated the California Voters Right Act (CVRA).  

On March 5, 2021, the City of Millbrae received a letter from attorney Kevin Shenkman claiming the City’s at-large electoral system violates the California Voting Rights Act (CVRA). The letter states "“I write on behalf our client, Southwest voter Registration Education Project and its members residing within the City of Millbrae (“Millbrae” or “City”) as well as You You Xue. Millbrae relies upon an at-large election system for electing candidates to its governing board. Moreover, voting within the City of Millbrae is racially polarized resulting in minority vote dilution, and therefore, the City’s at-large elections violate the California Voting Rights Act of 2001.”

The CVRA, which was passed in 2002, prohibits at-large elections when it can be shown that they impair the ability of a protected class to elect candidates of their choice or to influence elections in a significant way.  The law was passed in part due to a lack of success by plaintiffs utilizing the CVRA's federal counterpart, the Federal Voting Rights Act, to show that "racially polarizing voting" exists in the jurisdiction; they do not need to show any intent of voters or City of Millbrae officials to discriminate against the underrepresented class.  They also do not need to prove that changing to district elections would increase representation on the elected body in question.  

CVRA made it easier for plaintiffs to prevail in lawsuits against public entities by removing a number of procedural safeguards and burden of proof requirements that exist under the Federal Voting Rights Act (“FVRA”). Prevailing plaintiff has the right to recover their reasonable attorneys’ fees and expert witness cost. However, there is no attorney fee or cost recovery allowed should the City of Millbrae prevail, unless the City of Millbrae can prove the claim was frivolous. Other municipalities & local governmental agencies that have opposed CVRA challenges in court have either voluntarily adopted district elections or were forced by the courts to covert and pay millions of taxpayer funds in attorneys’ fees.

On October 12,2021, the Council adopted Resolution Number 21-70 reflecting its intent to transition from at-large to by-district for Council elections.

To assist with the transition, the City of Millbrae hired Redistricting Partners, a firm that specializes in drawing district lines for jurisdictions. Redistricting Partners will provide a presentation on the districting process on November 9, 2021 City Council Meeting. 

The City of Millbrae is currently an at-large elections system, which means voters of the entire City of Millbrae elect the five City Council members. As a general law city, the city has the option to a) divide into five separate districts with a rotating Mayor, or b) divide into four separate districts with a at large elected Mayor. Each councilmember must reside within the district and chosen only by the electors residing in that particular district.